A Notebook Full of Words
the random scribbles of a developing writer

Proof Copy and NaNoWriMo

I am very pleased to announce that my proof copy (purchased from http://www.createspace.com using my coupon earned in NaNoWriMo) has arrived. For those that don’t know, this is a pre-publication, or self-publication, copy of a book. It’s intended to be read through, checked, any typos and omissions corrected, before the book is properly published. Anyway, mine isn’t being published but I do now have an awesome copy of it πŸ™‚

That’s another benefit of National Novel Writing Month! Most years, though I don’t know if it will happen again this year, the self-publishing company CreateSpace gives a coupon to each and every winner which means they can receive a proof copy of their novel, free of charge. If you don’t want it, you can pass it on to somebody else. So why aren’t you signed up to NaNo yet?

Of course, there are tonnes of other benefits. For example:

  1. I’d never finished a story before I did NaNo; now, I’m on my fifth/sixth novel.
  2. It’s a great way to let go and get used to writing things ‘off the cuff’! Helps later when you need to write an essay in 30 minutes with no planning… :/
  3. There is an amazing community spirit, and you can make some awesome friends!

Some of my friends have decided to participate this year.

Elorithryn (pen name)

SpookOfNight (pen name)

Raina (pen name; wordpress blog is http://www.rainaclyll.wordpress.com)

And of course, there’s me: Delorfinde

So I won’t be alone πŸ™‚ But you, readers – are you taking part? And if not, why?

2 Responses to “Proof Copy and NaNoWriMo”

  1. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚
    Are there any restrictions for the writers regarding regions?

    • As far as I know there aren’t! It’s an international event really, but they didn’t think InNoWriMo sounded as good as NaNoWriMo. There are people from all over the place, even people who don’t live anywhere, like people who live on a boat! (They have a slight advantage: the time zone differences.)


Leave a Reply

